Bojanala Platinum District Municipality is one of four district municipalities in the North-West Province. The district has five local municipalities, including Moses Kotane, Kgetlengrivier, Rustenburg, Madibeng and Moretele. The main ethnic group in the North-West Province is the Setswana People, followed by minority groups of Sesotho, Xhosa and Afrikaans. The district also hosts one of the wealthiest tribes in South Africa –the Bafokeng Nation. Bojanala has three main towns and cities located within its borders, namely, Rustenburg, Brits and Koster, though there are many other growing towns and settlements. Rustenburg is well known for its Platinum Mines. The town of Brits was established on a farm owned by Gert Brits, while Koster is named after Bastiaan Hendricus Koster, a native of Rotterdam who settled on the farm Kleinfontein on which the town was founded in 1860.